No Bake Oat Cookies


This is a recipe from my Canadian friend who tells me her grandmother used to make these when she was a kid.

So here, we have an old family recipe. The best kind.

No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

2 cups caster sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups quick cook oats

1 cup coconut

6 tbspn cocoa

Method:

In a large pot, heat and mix the sugar, butter and milk.

Bring to boil, and boil for 3 minutes exactly. (Be precise, the cookies holding together depends on this step)

Add vanilla and stir.

Mix in remaining ingredients while on the heat.

Take off heat immediately.

Put spoonfuls of mixture onto lined baking trays.

Refrigerate for half an hour.

Notes on the recipe

I think I got these right. I timed the boil for 3 minutes and they all stuck together ok.

Although I did have lots of crumbs, the majority stuck as they should.

I did however find the mixture quite hot to handle, so I used two spoons and shaped them with my hands. I think I may have been a tablespoon shy of the recommended quantity of cocoa, but they still taste pretty good.

You could also get creative with the ingredients if you wanted to. You could add marshmallows and make it rocky roadish, or sprinkles or dip them in chocolate…just make sure you take out the same amount of oats for what ever you put in.

These are actually a really healthy snack for kids, considering they contain raw oats and not too much butter and they love them.  Suckers.

Thanks Laura and her nanna. xo


Leave a Reply

