Apple, Cranberry and Nut Loaf


This one I ripped out of a magazine. My sister’s. Thanks VC. It was so nice when I made it that I had to give the page back. I guess I should have published this post in the lead up to Christmas, what with all the cranberries and the green of the pistachios – it looks positively festive. If my kids weren’t so suspicious of any food stuff in a cake that looks even slightly like anything that occurs in the natural world, then I’m sure they’d love it. But they won’t even try it. So I must endure this loaf with AT, and any random individual I my encounter during it’s lifespan.I bought it along to a few play dates last time and it was very well received by adult and children alike.

Apple, Cranberry & Nut Loaf Recipe

Ingredients:

125g butter
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
2 green apples (grated, I left skins on – mainly because I’m lazy, but it works out fine, very rustic)
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup caster sugar
2 cups wholemeal flour (I used one cup of Self Raising, and one cup of plain)
1/2 tsp mixed spice
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup macadamias (crushed)
1/2 cup walnuts (crushed)
1/2 sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Oven at 160C

Method:
Grease & Line a loaf tin
Cream butter and sugar
Add eggs one at a time
Add flour, spice, salt and milk until it all just comes together ( don’t over mix)
Fold in nuts, apples, seeds and cranberries.
Cook for 1hr & 15 minutes. But keep an eye on it.
Stand in tin for 5 minutes.

Notes on the recipe

Ummm….I don’t really have any anecdotes on this recipe.

The original called for no self raising flour, and that made me uneasy, so I put in a cup of SR wholemeal and a cup of plain wholemeal. That was also because I bought the wrong flour, and actually if you want 100% honesty, I used a cup of plain white flour because I didn’t have any plain wholemeal. I was talking to someone about the lack of raising agent in this recipe and they said it was because of all the eggs.

Learn something new every day.

You could put whatever nuts and seeds you prefer into this cake I guess.

It is very nutty and crumbly in texture…but I think that’s part of the charm, so chunky, dense and healthy looking.

One thought on “Apple, Cranberry and Nut Loaf

  1. hey deary,

    is there a way you can make a printer-friendly version of your recipes? like an add-on onto your blog page?
    sometimes it’s just a nuisance to copy-paste into word.
    it’s b/c i bring all your recipes home!
    kiss xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

