Pita


Here is another recipe that hails from the Croatian cuisine.

While not exclusively Croatian, probably more Eastern European, this dish can be found from Turkey, to Greece and everywhere in between and can also be called burek or gibanica, as they say in Serbia.

Many places sell it as street food and it can come in varieties sweet and savoury.

I have found a very authentic recipe for Cheese Pita at Cafe Chocolada – for the intrepid but, if you’re like me and break out in a cold sweat at the thought of making your own filo pastry, then see below for my recipe.

I say ‘my’ it’s not mine. I don’t know who or where it came from all I know is that my aunty gave me these cooking instructions.

Cheese Pita Recipe

Ingredients:

6 eggs

1 500g tub of cottage cheese

1 250ml tub of sour cream

1 packet of filo pastry

OVEN at 180C

Method:

Mix the eggs, cheese and sour cream in a bowl.

Lay a sheet of filo on the bottom of a greased baking tray.

Then scrunch one sheet on top of that.

Then ladle a couple of spoonfuls of the eggs mixture evenly onto the filo.

Then repeat about three times. Except use two sheets of scrunched filo per layer.

Make the top layer a little smoother and put the last of the egg mixture on the top.

Bake for about 20 minutes? Not sure really…go by look.

It should look like this:

This meal is great at room temperature on the day of baking, and also cold or re-heated the next day. I recommend leaving it cool in the pan a little before eating, as the egg sometimes needs to set.

I keep my pita sealed in a plastic container in the fridge for about 4-5 days.

You could try making this recipe adding spinach, or ricotta cheese or perhaps mixing a little spring onion into the mix.

7 thoughts on “Pita

    • I think a little seasoning certainly wouldn’t hurt, but I also think it’s fine without. I am going to try using some other cheeses and ingredients like ricotta and spinach and using farmers cheese instead of sour cream. And yes, you cut it into squares to eat. It is really nice re-heated in the microwave too! Lasts about 5 days I reckon.

      • Yey sounds delish!!! Not part of my lite n easy plan but i’m allowed a treat 🙂 thanks xxx

  1. hi lara, your post reminded me that i hadn’t made pita in the longest while. 🙂

    i had some fresh blitva (swiss chard) at home and chopped it up fresh into the egg-cheese mixture. it was great. i added about a teaspoon of salt. and i coated the top with melted butter and milk.

    if you don’t want a crunchy top my mom puts sour cream on top, in the corners mostly.

    dobar tek!

    • Dear Barbara,

      Thank you for your kind words, and the opportunity to list my blog on your guide. I have done so, and look forward to hearing from you when it’s up there. Thanks again, and I look forward to reading more about your contributions to Eastern European food!

      Kind regards, Lara Cetinich Cory

Leave a Reply

