Foodies ‘French’ night


When you have more than one foodie in the family, you occasionally get these crazy nights where said foodies will get together and make stuff and eat it.

I fall into that extraordinary category where I have 3 foodies in one family, plus a foodie friend. So….

We’ve had Lebanese nights, Italian nights and sometimes we’ve had ‘let’s all just make something fattening and eat it’ nights.

A little while ago, we had a French food night. VC and Mum went to a lot of trouble and made some delicious dishes. I made…ummm…nothing. I think. I blame motherhood. I don’t think I’ll be able to use that crutch for much longer though.

Well, as you will see by the photos, there was a lovely array of French and French inspired dishes.

What we ate:

Potato gallettes with a Walnut and Blue cheese salad

Roast Tomato Tart

Asparagus and Goat’s cheese tart

Soft cheese, spiked with thyme and garlic and heated in the oven and served with cooled boiled kipfler potatoes, and cured meats.

Swiss cheese, black-forest ham and cornichon salad (this is German I think, but who’s counting).

When I ponder the words of Socrates, “Thou shouldst eat to live; not live to eat.” I think ‘Whatevs Socrates. Clearly your mother couldn’t cook.’

Leave a Reply

