Apple Crumble


Before the weather changes and we can no longer justify making pudding on a weeknight, I thought I might post my recipe for apple crumble.

I know it all seems very easy, but I do think sticking to the ratio is important.

Obviously, if you want to use fresh apple, go ahead. But I am quite happy with tinned.

Apple Crumble Recipe

Ingredients:

1 x tin of apples (or any other fruit you like)

75g butter (cold, diced)

1/2 cup flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp baking powder

handful of oats

few tbsp of coconut

sprinkle of slivered almonds

A sprinkle of cinnamon sugar and extra brown sugar

OVEN 180C

Method:

Spread the apples in a baking dish, and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar or brown sugar, or both.

In a food processor blend flour, baking powder and sugar.

Add pieces of butter and blend until mixture starts to come together….(I”ll explain in NOTES)

Transfer to a bowl and mix in the coconut, oats and almonds.

Pour over the apples and bake for about half an hour.

Notes on the Recipe

I tried adding slivered almonds for the first time last night, and they were indeed the jewel in the crown, so I absolutely recommend, for special occasions, to get some especially. But for just any old night, if you don’t have any, don’t worry about it.

I believe the trick to a good crumble is to blend the flour and butter a little more than the recipe books suggest…a little more than ‘fine breadcrumbs’….blend until the mixture goes a bit more moist and larger chunks appear. This will your crumble a lovely chunky texture.

One thought on “Apple Crumble

  1. Sounds fabulous, can’t wait to give it a go – I love a good crumble! And what a good way to get more oats into your diet 😛

Leave a Reply

