Banh Mi


I only discovered the name of these sandwiches because I wanted to write about them.

Come to think of it, they kind of deserve a name of their own – Wiki Definition .

Chances are you may have had one, and after reading this post, I know you’ll go and find one to eat.

You get these banh mi sandwiches at local Vietnamese bakeries. Look for a little nook in the back of the shop with a selection of salads and meat.

I remember reading about them a couple of years ago in the newspaper, and going to line up to try one in a far flung suburb.

Lucky for me I now have a local Vietnamese bakery down the road.

Our local guys put chicken, fish paste, mayo, pickled carrot, cucumber, shallot, coriander, chilli and fish sauce on crunchy white torpedo rolls.

AT and my eldest KT absolutely love them. So I got all mumsy and tried to make one at home.

I didn’t have high expectations, because I know these things are always better from the store.

However, I was pleasantly surprised with the results and so I thought I’d share them with you.

Because not all of us have a Vietnamese bakery near by.

Home Made Banh Mi

Ingredients:

Pickled, shredded carrot (see previous post on this)

Strips of cucumber

Strips of shallot

Coriander

Chilli

Chicken, shredded (I use rotisserie chicken)

Rolls

Pecks anchovy paste

Egg mayo (Hellmans, Best Foods etc)

Fish sauce

Method:

Put it all on a roll.

Obviously fish paste and mayo on bread, and shake a little fish sauce over it at the end.

Eat.

Important elements to get the best result:

  • Use BBQ/rotisserie chicken. If you use poached breast meat, it won’t be tasty enough (trust me I know this from experience).
  • Must use pickled carrot. I tried it with regular carrot and it just wasn’t right. It is really easy to make pickled carrot and you can make enough for many sandwiches.
  • Pecks Anchovy paste is really the only fish paste on the market. I think it works fine, and it is available in most supermarkets.
  • Whole Egg mayo, because it has a mild flavour like the homemade mayo they use in the bakery. Anything else will be too tangy or sweet.
  • You could also use cold cut roast pork, if you like that option. Or try and get your hands on the processed, pink sandwich meat they have at the bakery. I think chicken is a nice healthy option though.
Leave a Reply

