Cranberry Christmas Crackles


It seems there’s no end in sight for my Christmas creations this year….

Hot on the trail of the peanut butter cups, I decided I had to have some White Christmas.

Well, that’s what we call it here in Australia…not sure if anything like it is made around the world.

But you see there’s a problem. I don’t really like the ingredients of the traditional White Christmas.

No, I’m not talking about coconut the milk powder, I’m talking about the glace cherries, candied citrus and sultanas.

So, I figured out a way to enjoy all my favourite parts of this old fashioned slice, without all the sickly sweet and bitter fruits of ye-olde times.

Ladies and Gents, I present, my own incarnation of White Christmas…

Cranberry Christmas Crackles Recipe

Ingredients:

125 g Copha (vegetable shortening)

1.5 cups rice bubbles

1/2 cup milk powder

1/2 cup coconut

1/3 cup icing sugar

handful of chopped dried cranberries

Method:

Melt copha.

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and then add copha.

Spread into a slice tin or place into mini-muffin patties and refrigerate till set.

One thought on “Cranberry Christmas Crackles

  1. Pingback: The 12 Days of Christmas Food | Feeding Time Blog

Leave a Reply

