White Chocolate Chunk Cookies


I would unofficially call these ‘adult cookies’ if I could.

They are so chunky and full of wonderful ingredients and yet my kids don’t really like them that much. Even though they contain chocolate.

I guess it’s the oats,coconut, sultanas and nuts that get in the way.

I must admit this could be one of my absolute favourite cookie recipes.

However, it does contain a lot of ingredients, which usually puts me off. But these little beauties are worth all the trouble.

So before I go ahead with the recipe, I thought I might share some of my tips to make baking things like this a bit easier.

I have the worst, smallest kitchen and I have had to learn to make the most of what little space I have.

– Measuring cups

Have more than one measuring cup. At least two and more if you can. It might seem excessive but it helps.

– Electronic Scales

Ever since buying my electronic scales I have found it so much nicer to use than regular scales. Just pop a bowl on and press the ‘tare’ button. Easy. Accurate.

– Cannisters

I got this idea from my latest bestie, Ina Garten. I noticed she has a gigantic, glass jar of flour on her kitchen bench. It seemed like such a great idea for people who spend a lot of time in the kitchen. So I tried it myself. Those vintage cannisters you see on my header are now full of stuff. They used to sit gathering dust, but now I put flour in the flour, tea in the tea and guess what in the sugar? Chocolate! And of course dishwasher tablets in the rice. Who cares.

My point is that having flour handy in the kitchen significantly improves efficiency. I can just grab it down when I’m thickening sauces, making pizza or baking. I will endeavour to put sugar in the sugar, but then sometimes I use caster, sometimes brown and sometimes regular…see the problem? Besides, AT wouldn’t know where to find the treats if I did that.

White Chocolate Chunk Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

113g butter (1 stick)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup oats

1 cup white chocolate chunks/chips

1/2 cup coconut (flaked or dessicated)

1/2 cup sultanas

1/2 cup roughly chopped walnuts/pecans

OVEN 180C/ 350F

Method:

Cream butter and sugar.

Stir in egg and vanilla.

Stir in flour, soda, powder, salt.

Stir in remaining ingredients.

Scoop into loose clumps on the trays and flatten slightly…don’t press into balls.

They are nice if a little irregular. Enhances the ‘chunky’ aspect.

This is a Martha Stewart recipe, and it originally contains twice the quantities. But this makes an awful lot of cookies, so I’ve halved it.

You know…obesity…calories…

It’s bad enough I made them in the first place.

One thought on “White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

