Pad Thai


Something you don’t know about me is that I have been searching for years…and I mean years to find a pad thai sauce that could even slightly compare to take-away pad thai.

I have tried powders, sauces, recipes from scratch.

I have bought tamarind puree, shrimp paste and other such items in order to recreate the Thai-take away experience at home.

Alas, to no avail.

Until now.

I spotted this jar of Valcom Pad Thai paste on the shelves in my last shop, and I am at heart an optimist. I like the brand and have their lemongrass and kaffir lime leaves in my fridge.

I did want take-away, but the traffic would have made it a hardship, and I had intended on making it myself, but after a hard day and nursing a sick boy, I was not exactly in the mood to cook.

But I gave it a shot.

Fried up some cubed tofu, chicken pieces. Had some veges ready, boiled my noodles etc.

Then I threw the whisked egg into the smoking wok and while the egg was still wet, I put the noodles in, gave it a toss and then put in all the other ingredients, including the Valcom sauce.

I was told about this method from a Chinese friend, which I use for fried rice. It is much, much better than frying up a little omlette and then slicing and adding later (as we are all told in our recipe books).

The verdict was an unanimous success.

While this particular sauce is very spicy, we liked it that way. It had the right flavour and colour and resulted in a fairly authentic pad thai noodle.

I did put a little fish sauce in the mix, which gave it a little bit of salty seasoning that it did need.

With a sprinkle of crushed peanuts and a squirt of lime juice I felt satisfied and I will buy it again.

Leave a Reply

