Where have I been


I know, I know….I’ve been out of touch for a while. But I have just moved to London, check out the view from my kitchen window;

I can watch Battersea go by as I wash my dishes (alas, no dishwasher). It’s amazing how you take for granted things you have learnt throughout your life. Things no one ever told you, but you know all the same from experience or social osmosis. What brands are good ones in a supermarket? What direction is this place or that? What are the phone companies called? How do you get a bus ticket? My brain is overloaded.

But the raspberries here taste amazing. So sweet and nothing like the ones in Sydney and less than half the price! The meat is labelled by farmer and country of origin, there is a mind-blowing selection of prepared food available everywhere. You’d never have to cook here if you didn’t want to. There are huge, juicy cherries for sale on the road side, the Maldon Salt is less than 2 pounds per box and everyone here is so polite and mild mannered.

London is wonderful so far and I can’t wait to explore further than my own neighbourhood. I’m off to Tooting today to look at furniture and Indian food. Might pick up a big pot and some spices.

One thought on “Where have I been

Leave a Reply

