Ottolenghi Luncheon


Mum has been wanting to take me to lunch at Ottolenghi ever since I got here (over 3 months ago now)…but with the constant companionship of my family, I wondered if the day would ever come where we could nip into Notting Hill have a quiet meal.

Finally today, we made it to our lovely, quiet luncheon at Ottolenghi. We had to wait about 5 minutes to get a seat at the communal table in the back of the store. It was a little crowded, but I could sacrifice personal space for this particular indulgence. Next to the sweets, the salads are the main attraction. They are presented in giant bowl-fulls in the front of the store and look delicious.

We all chose the same salads, which were delicately spiced with similar flavours and included roasted eggplant covered in a curried yoghurt, curried cauliflower with goat’s cheese and roasted peppers and butternut squash roasted with spices and seeds and sprinkled with corn and feta. And OMG they were amazing. We were each saying which bit we were savouring till last, and I wanted to save it all till last…I didn’t want the meal to end.

I knew however, that when we approached the window of Ottolenghi that salads would not be the pièce de résistance. I would not walk away from this place with salad in my heart.

I would leave this place with the lingering flavour of sweeties on my lips.

Look at them all, plated and piled high in the window.The one that caught my eye was the saucy little number in the bottom left. I saw cheesecake, I saw nuts and I saw caramel.

I was sold.

It is a sad day when I can say this and really mean it, but today, Cheesecake was Happiness.

This was one of the best damned cheesecakes I have ever tasted. Light in texture, delicately flavoured, topped with a disgustingly fabulous mound of caramelised macademia.

I can’t talk about it anymore. I need a quiet moment to reflect.

 

Leave a Reply

