The View from Maidenhead


Moving is never fun. After the excitement of getting the physical items moved from A to B, you’re left with the difficult job of unpacking your life from (terribly inadequately labelled) cardboard boxes. At the moment we’re sleeping on mattresses and subsisting on the bare essentials, but luckily for us, the kitchen is pretty well sorted.

I’ve got my La Creuset orange pots (bought 2nd hand on ebay for a steal) and my mixer from home. I’ve bought myself a ridiculously heavy cast iron frying pan for the bargain price of £12. There’s something so reassuring about knowing I can scrape at the surface of this pan without doing it any damage. I am not a fan of teflon, and yet it’s very difficult to get your hand on anything else these days.

While the view from kitchen window in Maidenhead might not give me a lifeline to the world outside, it does let a wonderful amount of sunshine in. The kitchen (ceramic hob aside) is pretty great. I’m still getting used to where I’ve put everything. I have developed a system of organisation where I put things like oils and sauces in a cupboard right by the stove. It has worked for me in the past and continues to serve me well.

Here’s a photo of the new set up. I’ve got my canisters in pride of place, and my cast iron weapon of choice in the foreground. This is the new home of Feeding Time Blog.

I’m going to cook up a Caldo Verde tonight to repent for our snacking sins of the past couple of weeks. It sounds fancy but it just means ‘green soup’ in Portuguese and is more or less a soup made with cabbage and chorizo and potato. Of course I’ll be leaving out the potato. But it’s a rip-snorter for those chilly nights when you want something hearty (and farty) to tuck into.

I’ve got the oven on and I’m going to make some cupcakes for the boys who are on their second week off school. I’ve been playing with chestnuts lately and am determined to make a Mont Blanc similar to the one I love at Maison Bertaux (click to see a photo of them, they’re the ones with the cream piled on top). I’ve tried using chestnut paste from France, but it was too sweet and grainy, so I’m going to try using a can of chestnut puree I found at Sainsburys last week. I’ll keep you posted on that one.

Here’s a photo of the backyard.

One thought on “The View from Maidenhead

Leave a Reply

