Lemon Curd Cupcakes


This recipe came about for 2 reasons. The first was that I sampling Stork’s newest baking product, the ‘Easy to Mix Baking Liquid’. Strangely and intentionally vague name right? I didn’t actually know what it was for until it arrived in a package at my house. Apparently it’s a substitute for butter and made with vegetable and rape seed oils (amongst other things). It has a weird bright yellow colour and that weird fake-butter smell you get from microwave popcorn. I didn’t think it was very nice looking and I had strong doubts about the results.  So I made the recipe on the bottle for lemon cupcakes. Here’s where the second reason comes in. After work (I am doing a short stint working at the local paper) I am always hungry, because I don’t get a lunch break – not slave labour, just short shifts. I was picking up some things for dinner in M&S, which is a high end grocery store. As we all know, shopping when hungry is dangerous. So of course I came home with a bag full of all kinds of irrelevant and unnecessary items, including Sicilian Lemon Curd. Of course. Why shouldn’t I need lemon curd made with Sicilian lemons?

And so the lemon curd cupcake was born. I researched some recipes on line, and decided that I would simply swirl the lemon curd in at the end, like you would when you’re marbling a peanut butter and chocolate brownie. That way you’ll get swirls of dense, lemony goodness. Then I thought of making butterfly cakes, like the kind my mum used to make for special occasions (for example the red jellied coconut cakes) except instead of plain old whipped cream – I would blend lemon curd AND whipped cream. Genius.

Turns out I was pleased with the results of Stork’s baking liquid. I wouldn’t buy it though, because I think why would you use something that’s been over processed when you just use good old fashioned butter. But I guess it’s good for someone in a hurry or someone who doesn’t actually like baking.

Ingredients:

115g butter

115 caster sugar

2 medium eggs

140g self raising flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

zest & juice of a small lemon

Jar of lemon curd

Method:

Set the oven to 180C

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, zest and juice.

Mix flour and powder until just combined.

Put a large dollop of lemon curd into the mix and give it a gentle swirl, not mixing fully.

Pour into 12 paper cases and bake for about 15 minutes.

Cool and top with lemon cream (a large dollop of lemon curd and a carton of cream, whipped till light and fluffy).

Dust with icing sugar.

10 thoughts on “Lemon Curd Cupcakes

  1. These look delish and I have 2 jars of Lemon Curd ( or Lemon Butter as the Aussies call it here) in the fridge given to me as gifts, so I definitely plan on giving these a whirl…..

    • Go for gold Lyn! You know I’m an Aussie right? But, you know what they say about ‘when in Rome’….I’ve even started to say duvet instead of doona…bank holiday instead of public holiday – it’s madness.

      • Yes I remember reading an old post of yours where you mentioned being an Aussie! I am a Brit, who after 40+ yrs in Aus still uses the Brit version of certain words causing great laughter amongst Aussie friends etc. Your mention of M&S brings back wonderful memories of their cakes that my sister who worked there in the 60’s used to be able to buy for next to nothing at the end of the day. We thought we were in heaven when she arrived home with huge bags of goodies.
        I still get a hankering for their fresh cream filled meringues!

  2. So glad that you gave the thumbs down to baking liquid.
    Love to read your posts, but was concerned about the sounds of that product…..I can never understand why things like that exist…..but I’m a bit old-fashioned when it comes to food…..fresh ingredients are the best!

    • Agree Mary, we must be very ‘old school’, I love using the real thing Butter! However I used to work with young girls who thought the whole thing of melting butter to use in cooking or getting it out of the fridge to soften was just sheer hard work!

      • Well I firmly believe that all the over-processed foods is the reason for our over weight population. However, in my case it must be simply greed because it’s all home cookin’ at my house! Fight the good fight ladies and hold that buttery torch high!

  3. LT, just to let you know that I whipped up some of these last night. So easy, but oh so delish. I ended up using 4 small eggs from my bantams and they came out amazingly light and fluffy. Didn’t even get around to decorating them, as they looked so delightful we were pigging out on them straight out of the oven! This recipe will definitely be a fav from now on, especially as it is so easy to adjust the flavourings. Thank you for sharing the most perfect cupcake recipe!

      • Funny you should mention that as I sent recipe to my friend in Queensland this morning and told her she could always substitute the lemon with either orange or mandarin!! (or even some Grand Marnier perhaps?) Thanks I have just gone in and checked the old blog and will definitely be trying variations of this recipe. I have checked my cake tin and there are only a few cupcakes left, we must have mice???

  4. Pingback: When life gives you lemons, make Lemon Squares | Feeding Time Blog

Leave a Reply

