Chocolate Beetroot Cake


I love beetroot. I love it so much that I made a cake with it. I put it in every salad and love to eat it with goats cheese and everything else really. At work we get a lot of press releases from PR companies who’s clients sell fresh produce, like beetroot. I was sent a press release for beetroot the other day – strange I know – and I checked out the lovebeetroot.co.uk site for recipes. I found one for a chocolate and beetroot cake and went home that day and made it.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but cakes aren’t my strong point. I blame the tins. They’re either too big or too small and I either over cook or under cook. But sometimes a cake comes along that even I can make work, and sometimes they’re good enough that I’ll make them again. Like the chocolate Guinness cake from back in May, this chocolate cake is a recipe worth keeping. It is rich and moist and has that little extra something that raises it over the bar. The beets give it a wonderfully rich colour, reminiscent of a Red Velvet cake, and the flavour it brings is a natural but not overbearing sweetness. The strong colour of beetroot means it has a high dose of antioxidant, it is high in soluble fibre and lowers blood pressure. All good things. So I guess you could say that with the famous health properties of chocolate, combined with the beetroot make this one seriously healthy cake.

All health related persuasions aside, this is a great recipe, and absolutely perfect for any chocolate cake requirement. Kids won’t know the difference and adults will feel like they’re being adventurous. We’re all winners with this one.

Chocolate and Beetroot Cake Recipe

Ingredients:

250g plain cooked (vacuum packed) beetroot, drained & pureed
200g quality dark chocolate
200g plain flour
200g melted butter
100g dark brown sugar
100g caster sugar
3 large eggs
2tbsp cocoa powder
2tsp baking powder
1tsp vanilla extract

Oven 180C

Method:
Break the chocolate into pieces and blitz in a food processor until crumbed but not totally powdered – some larger pieces will give the cake a great texture.
Add the beetroot and blend together.
Then add the remaining ingredients to the processor and wiz until well mixed.
Pour into the prepared cake tin and lightly level out the surface.
Bake in the preheated oven for 45-50 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
The surface of the cake may have cracked a little. Allow the cake to cool then put on cooling rack.
Dust lightly with icing sugar.

One thought on “Chocolate Beetroot Cake

  1. Pingback: Anti-aging foods and how to eat them | Feeding Time Blog

Leave a Reply

