Blueberry butter cake


This recipe is really just another version of my mum’s apple cake. Easy to make and even easier to eat, this is the go-to pudding in my house. AT and I had been discussing a blueberry pie, but in my thrifty culinary wisdom I envisaged that a pie would require a truck load of blueberries, which would seem a bit wasteful for two people. So I thought I’d make my mum’s apple cake, but with blueberries instead.

The reason I’m sharing this news is that it was a turn of gastronomic genius to swap the apples for blueberries in this recipe. There is something so fleeting and subtle about the flavour of a cooked blueberry – it is no where near as certain and tart as the raw berry and seems to taste if this is at all possible, more blue. I know that sounds crazy but it’s true. The berries in this cake, bake to become a soft, round, sweeter flavour that complements the cake perfectly.

Blueberry butter cake recipe

Ingredients:

125g butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

3/4 cup flour

3/4 cup self raising flour

1 or 2 punnets of blueberries

Oven at 180C

Method:

Beat butter and sugar together until creamy

Beat in egg

Mix in flours, until just combined and resembles a dough like mixture

Divide the dough in half

Roll or press out one half into a paper lined cake tin.

Put blueberries on top.

Place the other half of the batter on top of the blueberries. (It’s easier to roll this piece out).

Bake for about 35 minutes.

Serve with whipped cream for ultimate enjoyment.

Leave a comment