Spotted Dick Pudding


I’ve always had a curiosity about suet, but never the confidence to actually cook with it. But since moving to the UK I’ve enjoyed some wonderful suet dishes and I finally got around to putting the suet I had in the cupboard to good use. The weather got cold all of a sudden last week. Not every day, but some mornings and nights have a chill that hints at winter and this makes me think about pudding. I had a good look around online at spotted dick recipes and I put together a version that combines the best elements of the ones I like the most, like the use of an egg and the inclusion of soft white breadcrumbs in place of some of the flour. In the end I used brioche, and between you and me – I think it was a stroke of genius. I’ve never tasted spotted dick before, but I was very happy with the results of this recipe. It’s got that suet texture without being stodgy, and it picked up the flavour of the lemon rind surprisingly well, considering how little I used. I didn’t add the spices or extra fruit that some of the recipes suggested, because I wanted to taste it as it was intended.

IMG_3309

Spotted Dick Recipe

Ingredients:
120g suet
120g sugar
120g SR flour
120g bread crumbs
200g currents
1 egg
rind of 1 lemon
enough milk to make it a wet dough.

OVEN @ 180C

Method:
Mix all the dry ingredients into a bowl.
Mix egg and about half a cup of milk together and then pour in to the dry ingredients.
Add more milk until you have a wet dough.
Pour into a pudding basin, lined with muslin or baking paper.
Fold the remaining flaps of muslin/paper over the pudding and place the lid on.
Put a folded tea towel in an oven-proof pot.
Place the pudding basin into the pot, resting on the tea towel.
Pour in boiling water into the pot to come 3/4 way up the side of the pudding basin.
Pop in the oven – carefully – it’s heavy – for 1.5 hours.
Remove and let it cool a little, taking care as everything is hot!
Lift out the pudding basin, and remove lid.
You can lift out the pudding easily because it’s in the muslin/paper.
Serve with warm custard and cream.

IMG_3308

Leave a Reply

