Christmas-spiced tea buns


IMG_3472

Lurpak got in touch with me to try their new Slow Churned Butter, their new ‘fuller tasting’ butter has been churned in small batches over 5 hours to create a richer, full-flavoured butter to “excite any butter connoisseur”. I consider myself somewhat of a gourmand when it comes to butter – that is I appreciate greedy amounts and enjoy the highest quality flavours. Lescure butter has been my go-to for many years, but I must say that this new Lurpak butter is easier to find and comes salted, unlike many of the French butters, and this suits my palate. Lurpak has joined forces with Richard Bertinet to make some goodies that are perfect for spreading lashings of the new slow churned butter on to.

I made the spiced tea buns yesterday and they were lovely. I found them rather delicately flavoured for my boorish taste-buds, and so I’ve ever-so-slightly upped the ante on the walnuts and spices. Otherwise the following version is almost identical to Richard’s. I have removed the first out of three resting or proving stages, as to be honest, I simply mis-read the recipe and didn’t do it – and discovered that it worked fine anyway. So if you haven’t got oodles of time, this version worked out well for me. I did have misgivings about the amount of yeast, and my dough didn’t double in size – it only lightened up. You can make these with all kinds of variations like using mixed peel, ground cloves or choc-chips or raisins and apple pieces.

Christmas spiced tea buns recipe

Ingredients:
1 tsp salt
500g strong bread flour
2 tsp dried yeast
1 tbsp honey
200g milk at room temperature
100g butter
3 eggs (2 for the recipe and 1 for the egg wash)
200g walnuts, crushed
200g dried cranberries
70g caster sugar
1 tsp mixed spice
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground cardamom

Oven 180C 

Method:
Put flour, two of the eggs and the butter into your mixing bowl and using the dough hook, mix for about 10 minutes until soft and supple.
Add in walnuts, cranberries, sugar and spices.
Rest for one hour until the dough has doubled in volume.
Divide the dough into 10 equal pieces. Mould into balls, and place onto a baking tray. Prove for one hour until the buns have risen to nearly double the size. Beat the remaining egg in a cup with a pinch of salt. Brush over the top of the buns.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until golden brown.
To serve, cut the tea buns in half and spread with butter.

IMG_5553

Leave a Reply

